{
  "schemaVersion": 1,
  "name": "ToolDance X1: facts, buyer answers, and source notes",
  "canonicalUrl": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/",
  "updatedOn": "2026-10-01",
  "disclosure": "Paid partnership. Manufacturer information and supplied demonstrations reviewed; no hands-on X1 or Studio test.",
  "sources": {
    "official-x1": {
      "label": "ToolDance X1 public product page",
      "href": "https://tooldance.ai/pages/tooldance-x1-vip-access",
      "kind": "manufacturer-public",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "readerHref": "#source-studio-compatibility"
    },
    "official-reservation": {
      "label": "ToolDance X1 VIP reservation terms",
      "href": "https://tooldance.ai/products/tooldance-x1-vip-reservation",
      "kind": "manufacturer-public",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "readerHref": "#source-offer"
    },
    "official-announcement": {
      "label": "ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement",
      "href": "https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/tooldance-unveils-x1-smart-desktop-cnc-mill-at-ifa-2026-302870568.html",
      "kind": "manufacturer-issued-public",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "readerHref": "#source-announcement"
    },
    "kickstarter": {
      "label": "ToolDance X1 Kickstarter page",
      "href": "https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/147449099/tooldance-x1-smart-desktop-cnc-with-industrial-capability",
      "kind": "campaign-public",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23",
      "readerHref": "#source-kickstarter"
    },
    "sponsor-brief": {
      "label": "ToolDance X1 media kit",
      "href": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#source-brief",
      "kind": "manufacturer-supplied",
      "receivedOn": "2026-09-16",
      "readerHref": "#source-brief"
    },
    "sponsor-clarifications": {
      "label": "ToolDance product clarifications",
      "href": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#source-clarifications",
      "kind": "manufacturer-written-confirmation",
      "receivedOn": "2026-09-28",
      "readerHref": "#source-clarifications"
    },
    "studio-demos": {
      "label": "ToolDance Studio demonstrations",
      "href": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#source-studio-videos",
      "kind": "manufacturer-supplied-demonstration",
      "reviewedOn": "2026-09-18",
      "readerHref": "#source-studio-videos"
    },
    "market-comparison": {
      "label": "X1 market comparison and manufacturer sources",
      "href": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#source-comparison",
      "kind": "editorial-derived-from-primary-sources",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "readerHref": "#source-comparison"
    },
    "nist-repeatability": {
      "label": "NIST measurement terminology",
      "href": "https://www.nist.gov/pml/nist-technical-note-1297/nist-tn-1297-appendix-d1-terminology",
      "kind": "independent-primary-technical",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "readerHref": "#source-metrology"
    }
  },
  "facts": [
    {
      "id": "x1-base-offer",
      "value": 2999,
      "currency": "USD",
      "basis": "Announced Super Early Bird",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "sources": [
        "official-reservation"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-vip-effective",
      "value": 2799,
      "currency": "USD",
      "basis": "Eligible reservation holders after cashback; not the initial pledge amount",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "sources": [
        "official-reservation"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-work-envelope",
      "value": {
        "x": 400,
        "y": 265,
        "z": 180
      },
      "unit": "mm",
      "basis": "XYZ work envelope, not guaranteed finished-part dimensions",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-tool-capacity",
      "value": 9,
      "basis": "Cutting tools; workpiece probe separate",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-spindle",
      "value": 1500,
      "unit": "W",
      "basis": "Rated spindle power, S1. Mechanical output not specified.",
      "confirmedOn": "2026-09-28",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-add-ons",
      "value": {
        "fourAxis": 699,
        "fiveAxis": 1099,
        "dustCollection": 499,
        "floodCooling": 799
      },
      "currency": "USD",
      "basis": "Crowdfunding add-on prices; separate from base machine; not retail prices",
      "confirmedOn": "2026-09-28",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-axis-options",
      "value": "3-axis standard; optional 4-axis module ($699) or 5-axis module ($1,099), both crowdfunding add-on prices. 5-axis development preview: workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm in 3+2 machining, or 80 × 80 × 80 mm in simultaneous 5-axis machining.",
      "confirmedOn": "2026-09-28",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-machine-size",
      "value": "100 kg; 750 × 625 × 772 mm",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-brief"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-vs-air-price-gap",
      "value": 700,
      "currency": "USD",
      "basis": "Announced X1 starting price minus Carvera Air retail sale price",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "sources": [
        "official-reservation",
        "market-comparison"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "studio-licensing",
      "value": null,
      "status": "Not confirmed in the materials reviewed",
      "checkedOn": "2026-10-01",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "official-reservation",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ]
    }
  ],
  "questions": [
    {
      "id": "x1-price",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-price",
      "question": "How much will the ToolDance X1 cost, and when does it launch?",
      "answer": "ToolDance’s Kickstarter launch is planned for mid-October 2026, with no specific date confirmed. As of October 1, 2026, the announced Super Early Bird price starts at $2,999; eligible VIP reservation holders can reach $2,799 after cashback. The separate $30 reservation was marked out of stock. Final campaign terms and delivery details are still to come.",
      "sources": [
        "official-reservation",
        "sponsor-clarifications"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#launch",
        "label": "See current price and launch status"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "time-sensitive"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-price-includes",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-price-includes",
      "question": "What is included in the $2,999 X1 price?",
      "answer": "The $2,999 figure is the announced starting price for the base three-axis X1. The optional 4-axis module is $699 and the optional 5-axis module is $1,099; dust collection and flood cooling are also separate. These are US-dollar crowdfunding add-on prices confirmed September 28. Final bundle contents, shipping charges, and delivery timing still need confirmation.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications",
        "official-reservation"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#launch",
        "label": "See what is confirmed and still open"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "campaign-specific",
        "manufacturer-specified",
        "open-question"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-vs-carvera-air",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-vs-carvera-air",
      "question": "How does the ToolDance X1 compare with the Carvera Air?",
      "answer": "At prices checked October 1, 2026, the X1’s announced $2,999 starting price is $700 above Carvera Air’s $2,299 sale price. The main distinction is tool changing: X1 lists a 9-tool automatic changer that follows the programmed job, while the Air uses manual quick changes. X1’s announced campaign offer and Air’s available retail machine also have different buying and delivery terms.",
      "sources": [
        "market-comparison"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#tooldance-x1-vs-carvera-air",
        "label": "Compare X1 and Carvera Air in detail"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "derived-time-sensitive",
        "manufacturer-specified",
        "mixed-time-sensitive"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-spindle-rating",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-spindle-rating",
      "question": "What does the X1's 1.5 kW (S1) spindle rating mean?",
      "answer": "ToolDance specifies rated spindle power of 1.5 kW (S1), with a maximum speed of 24,000 RPM. The company has not specified that figure as mechanical output power. I’m treating it as a manufacturer rating; cutting performance and finished-part quality will need testing with actual tools, materials, and setups.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications",
        "official-announcement"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#materials",
        "label": "Read the spindle and material details"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "explicit-limit",
        "manufacturer-confirmed"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-materials",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-materials",
      "question": "What materials can the ToolDance X1 machine?",
      "answer": "ToolDance lists steel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, brass, copper, hardwood, acrylic, and other plastics as supported materials. That offers a broad range of project possibilities. The practical setup still depends on the cutter, stock, workholding, feeds and speeds, and cooling. I haven’t tested the X1 on these materials.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications",
        "official-x1",
        "official-announcement"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#materials",
        "label": "See the material and cooling context"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "manufacturer-claimed-not-hands-on-tested"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-tool-capacity",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-tool-capacity",
      "question": "How many tools does the X1 hold, and does it change them automatically?",
      "answer": "The X1 is specified to store and automatically change among 9 cutting tools, with a separate workpiece probe. For a job with pockets, holes, and finished edges, the machine can switch between the programmed cutters without each manual swap. The operator still needs to load the correct tools, secure the stock, and supervise machining.",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "official-announcement",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#tool-changes",
        "label": "See how the tool-change sequence works"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "manufacturer-specified"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-work-envelope",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-work-envelope",
      "question": "How large a part can the X1 machine, and how much shop space does it need?",
      "answer": "ToolDance specifies a 400 × 265 × 180 mm XYZ work envelope. Its published weight and machine dimensions are 100 kg; 750 × 625 × 772 mm. Fixtures, cutters, and optional rotary modules reduce the room available for a particular part. The materials I reviewed do not give service-clearance dimensions. Bench planning also needs to allow for access and any separate cooling or dust equipment.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-brief",
        "official-x1",
        "official-announcement"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#materials",
        "label": "See the work-envelope illustration"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "manufacturer-specified",
        "open-question"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-axis-options",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-axis-options",
      "question": "Is the ToolDance X1 a three-axis, four-axis, or five-axis CNC?",
      "answer": "3-axis standard; optional 4-axis module ($699) or 5-axis module ($1,099), both crowdfunding add-on prices. 5-axis development preview: workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm in 3+2 machining, or 80 × 80 × 80 mm in simultaneous 5-axis machining. The smaller module workpiece dimensions should not be confused with the base machine’s XYZ work envelope.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications",
        "official-reservation"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#axes",
        "label": "See the optional axis modules"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "development-preview",
        "manufacturer-confirmed",
        "manufacturer-specified"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-coolant-dust",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-coolant-dust",
      "question": "Are flood cooling and dust collection included with the X1?",
      "answer": "Air blast is standard. ToolDance lists flood cooling at $799 and dust collection and filtration at $499 as optional US-dollar crowdfunding add-ons, separate from the base machine. Those are campaign add-on prices confirmed September 28, rather than retail prices. Choose the configuration around the material and work you plan to machine.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-clarifications"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#materials",
        "label": "See cutting and chip-management details"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "campaign-specific",
        "manufacturer-confirmed"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-studio-capabilities",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-studio-capabilities",
      "question": "Can I import a model and machine it with ToolDance Studio?",
      "answer": "ToolDance Studio brings design checks, automatic toolpaths for supported jobs, simulation, and workholding guidance into one preparation workflow. In the supplied videos I reviewed, a person still positions and secures the stock. That looks like a useful move toward simpler CNC setup, but it does not establish one-click machining for arbitrary models.",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "official-announcement",
        "studio-demos",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#software",
        "label": "Watch the supplied AutoCAM demonstration"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "editorial-disclosure",
        "manufacturer-described-demo-reviewed"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-studio-license",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-studio-license",
      "question": "Is ToolDance Studio included, and does it require a subscription?",
      "answer": "ToolDance hasn’t confirmed Studio’s license price, subscription terms, supported operating systems, or offline and cloud requirements in the materials I’ve reviewed. The demonstrations explain its intended workflow, but they don’t establish these purchase terms. Those are useful details to confirm when the campaign and software terms are published.",
      "sources": [
        "official-x1",
        "official-reservation",
        "sponsor-brief"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#software",
        "label": "See what the Studio demos establish"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "open-question-negative-source-check"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-file-formats-cam",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-file-formats-cam",
      "question": "What files can Studio import, and can X1 use Fusion 360 or other CAM?",
      "answer": "ToolDance’s supplied brief describes STEP and STL import. Its public X1 page also names compatibility with Fusion 360, Siemens NX, and Mastercam. I haven’t tested that connection, and the materials I reviewed do not document the exact postprocessor or project-transfer procedure. ToolDance Studio’s own workflow and third-party CAM compatibility should be evaluated separately.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-brief",
        "official-x1",
        "studio-demos"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#software",
        "label": "Read the Studio workflow context"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "manufacturer-public-claim",
        "manufacturer-supplied-not-publicly-documented",
        "open-question"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-repeatability",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-repeatability",
      "question": "Does ±0.01 mm repeatability mean every finished part will be accurate to ±0.01 mm?",
      "answer": "ToolDance states ±0.01 mm positioning repeatability: how consistently the machine returns to a position under the same conditions. That is different from a guaranteed tolerance for every finished part. Cutter deflection, workholding, material, toolpaths, calibration, and measurement also affect the result. I would want measured test parts before making a finished-part accuracy claim.",
      "sources": [
        "official-announcement",
        "sponsor-brief",
        "nist-repeatability"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#materials",
        "label": "Read the positioning-specification note"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "manufacturer-specified",
        "technical-interpretation"
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "x1-review-status",
      "url": "https://www.thecraftycatsman.com/tooldance-x1-cnc/#x1-review-status",
      "question": "Has The Crafty Catsman tested the ToolDance X1?",
      "answer": "I reviewed ToolDance’s supplied specifications, media, written clarifications, and software demonstrations, and checked public sources for the market comparison. I haven’t tested the X1 or Studio firsthand. ToolDance paid for this feature. I hope to have the opportunity to test the complete workflow and share what I learn in a future update.",
      "sources": [
        "sponsor-brief",
        "sponsor-clarifications",
        "studio-demos",
        "official-x1",
        "official-announcement"
      ],
      "readMore": {
        "href": "#sources",
        "label": "Review the evidence and disclosure"
      },
      "evidenceStatus": [
        "editorial-disclosure"
      ]
    }
  ]
}
