Skip to main content

Sponsored announcement / CNC

ToolDance introduces

The X1
desktop CNC.

Nine tools. A 1,500-watt spindle.
Optional 4-axis and 5-axis modules.

Automatic tool changes and an expandable machining system, built into an enclosed desktop design.

Explore the X1

Scroll to see inside

The enclosed ToolDance X1 desktop CNC, seen from the front on a stone plinth, in a manufacturer-supplied rendering.
ToolDance’s front cutaway rendering showing the X1 spindle, worktable, and internal tool magazine.
TOOLDANCE X1

Enclosed three-axis CNC
Manufacturer rendering

Spindle, worktable & tool magazine
Manufacturer cutaway rendering

The Crafty Catsman / Published September 30, 2026
ToolDance’s cutaway view of the spindle, worktable, and internal tool magazine.
Inside the X1. Manufacturer-supplied cutaway rendering.
Paid partnership

ToolDance sponsored this announcement and supplied the product information and media. I haven’t tested the X1.

ToolDance unveiled the X1 at IFA in Berlin in September 2026, with a Kickstarter launch planned for mid-October 2026. Aimed at makers, engineers, and small businesses, the three-axis machine combines automatic tool changes and a 3D sensing system in one enclosure, with an optional 4-axis module and an optional 5-axis module. Company announcement ↗ Launch update ↗

9 toolsAutomatic Tool Changer Capacity
400 × 265 × 180 mmXYZ work envelope
1.5 kW (S1) / 24,000 RPMRated spindle power / maximum speed

X1 questions: price, software, materials, and setup →

01AUTOMATIC TOOL CHANGER
ToolDance’s rendering of the X1 spindle above the open nine-position automatic tool magazine, with cutters seated in their holders.
ToolDance’s rendering of the nine-position tool magazine beneath the spindle.

Nine tools, with automatic changes

The X1’s automatic changer holds nine tools and switches between them during a programmed job. A larger end mill can remove material, a smaller cutter can handle fine details, and drilling or edge finishing can use additional tools.

ToolDance pairs the magazine with RFID tool recognition and support for compatible standard end mills with shanks up to 10 mm. ToolDance brief ↗

I like the flexibility this offers for custom brackets, fixtures, and enclosures. Several cutters can be loaded for one job, covering pockets, holes, and finished edges with fewer manual tool changes.

See ToolDance Studio
02SOFTWARE

ToolDance Studio

ToolDance Studio is the company’s software for preparing and running X1 jobs. ToolDance describes STEP and STL import, design checks, automatic toolpaths for supported jobs, workholding guidance, editable machining operations, and simulation. ToolDance brief ↗

ToolDance’s AutoCAM demonstration in Studio, shown without sound. The simulation is sped up. Select a step to jump to it. I haven’t tested Studio firsthand.

I reviewed the software demonstration videos supplied by ToolDance. They show toolpath previews and cutting simulation, design checks that highlight potential machining difficulties, and on-screen workholding guidance paired with a person positioning and securing stock. Supplied Studio demonstrations ↗

These demonstrations suggest Studio could make CNC preparation easier to follow. I hope to have the opportunity to test the full workflow firsthand, from importing a model through setup and machining, and share what I learn in a future update.

The X1 spindle and a clamped metal workpiece photographed at IFA, with metal chips around the vise.

IFA Berlin / September 2026

Inside the X1’s
cutting area.

The spindle, workholding, and cutting area
on display at IFA Berlin.

Watch the work-area animationToolDance animation · 20 secPhotograph supplied by ToolDance
ToolDance’s animation illustrates the stated 400 × 265 × 180 mm work envelope. Supplied separately from the IFA photograph.
03SPINDLE, MATERIALS, AND WORK AREA

A 1,500-watt spindle and a cast‑aluminum frame

ToolDance rendering of the X1 spindle machining a metal part, with chips scattered across the worktable.
The spindle machining a metal part in a ToolDance rendering.

At the center of the X1 is a permanent magnet synchronous motor (PMSM) spindle with a maximum speed of 24,000 RPM. ToolDance specifies rated spindle power: 1.5 kW (S1). This is a manufacturer rating; ToolDance does not specify it as mechanical output power. ToolDance specifies a cast-aluminum-alloy frame and emphasizes the spindle’s torque at lower speeds. ToolDance brief ↗ Spindle rating ↗

ToolDance lists steel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, brass, copper, hardwood, acrylic, and other plastics among the X1’s supported materials, positioning the machine as a versatile platform for machining a wide range of metals and non-metal materials. ToolDance product details ↗

The work envelope measures 400 × 265 × 180 mm—roughly 15.75 × 10.43 × 7.09 inches. Available part space depends on the installed cutter, fixture, and any optional 4-axis or 5-axis module.

ToolDance rendering of the X1 with its work envelope highlighted in amber and labeled 400, 265, and 180 millimeters.
ToolDance’s illustration of the work envelope, with dimensions in millimeters. Fixtures and tools take up some of this space.
CUTTING AND CHIP MANAGEMENT

Air blast standard, flood cooling optional

Air blast is standard for dry cutting. ToolDance lists crowdfunding add-on prices of $799 for its flood-cooling module and $499 for its dust collection and filtration module. Both are optional. ToolDance product details ↗

POSITIONING REPEATABILITY

±0.01 mm

ToolDance specifies ±0.01 mm positioning repeatability: the ability to return to the same position. Finished-part tolerances depend on the machining process. Measurement definitions ↗

ToolDance rendering showing a camera on the enclosure wall with an amber field of view across the X1 worktable.
ToolDance’s rendering of its built-in camera overlooking the work area. ToolDance ↗
04ENCLOSURE AND SETUP HARDWARE

Built-in cameras and a workpiece probe

The X1 houses its spindle and tool magazine inside an enclosure with a locking door and safety interlock. ToolDance’s 3D sensing system pairs a spindle-mounted RGB camera and line-laser sensor with a workpiece probe, and a separate 1080p camera streams the job for remote monitoring. ToolDance specifications ↗

ToolDance says the system recognizes its own stock and fixtures and supports fully automatic, semi-automatic, and manual workpiece setup. The company also describes guided setup after an operator turns a part over to machine another side.

Locating the material is an important part of CNC preparation. The machine needs work coordinates that match the physical setup so it can place the programmed cuts correctly. Milling setup documentation ↗

05BASE MACHINE AND OPTIONAL MODULES

Optional 4-axis and 5-axis modules

The X1 starts with three-axis machining. Its optional 4-axis module and optional 5-axis module add rotary motion for cylindrical work and parts with features at several angles. ToolDance brief ↗

The modular design gives makers a choice of configurations for different projects. ToolDance describes the three-axis setup as offering the largest work area and greatest stiffness, while the 5-axis module adds access to more complex shapes.

3

Base three-axis machine

The standard arrangement moves along X, Y, and Z. Parts that need cuts on another side may require the operator to reposition them.

ToolDance rendering of the optional 4-axis module with a chuck fitted.
Optional 4-axis module. ToolDance rendering.

Optional 4-axis module

ToolDance describes this module for rotary machining of cylindrical and irregular-profile parts. Its crowdfunding add-on price is $699.

The optional 5-axis module holding an aluminum part beneath the X1 spindle, in an image supplied by ToolDance.
5-axis module development preview. Image supplied by ToolDance; dimension annotation corrected to its confirmed specification.

Optional 5-axis module

ToolDance lists this module as a development preview for more complex multi-angle parts. ToolDance confirms workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm for 3+2 machining and 80 × 80 × 80 mm for simultaneous 5-axis machining. Its crowdfunding add-on price is $1,099.

All module prices are US-dollar crowdfunding add-on prices confirmed by ToolDance on September 28, 2026, separate from the base machine. They are not retail prices. ToolDance product details ↗

06DESKTOP CNC COMPARISON

X1 Market Comparison

The X1 changes between nine stored tools automatically. That matters when a part needs several cutters. Here’s how its announced $2,999 starting price and specifications compare with 8 desktop CNC alternatives.

ClickTap a machine to compare it with the ToolDance X1

USD · Prices reviewed October 1, 2026 · Specifications checked September 23, 2026

Makera’s October 1 prices replace its September pre-sale and sale offers. Carvera and Carvera Air now have Anniversary Sale Encore pricing; Z1 and Z1 Pro show their standalone retail prices. Follow each manufacturer link for current terms.

ToolDance X1 vs NestWorks C500

ToolDance X1

ANNOUNCED
ToolDance X1, shown in manufacturer product imagery.
FROM / USD$2,999

Announced Super Early Bird

Automatic Tool Changer Capacity+ 1 workpiece probe
9 tools
Optional 4-axis and 5-axis modules
3 axes
Spindle · S1 rating
1,500 W

NestWorks C500

PREORDER
NestWorks C500, shown in manufacturer product imagery.
STATED MSRP / USD$4,699

Preorder advertised · checkout price not public

Automatic changes
5 tools
Optional fourth axis
3 axes
Spindle · published rating
800 W
  • X/Y travel area

    X1 has about 2.1× the C500’s full X/Y travel area

    X1
    400 × 265 mm envelope
    C500
    240 × 210 mm full travel
  • Published spindle ratings

    X1 has a 1.5 kW (S1) spindle rating

    X1
    1.5 kW (S1) · rated power
    C500
    800 W · basis not stated
  • Automatic tool positions

    X1 holds 4 more cutting tools

    X1
    9 tools
    C500
    5 tools

About 2.1 times the C500’s full X/Y travel area, a 1,500 W spindle rating, and four more tools

Both machines change tools automatically. The X1’s 400 × 265 mm X/Y envelope is about 2.1 times the C500’s full 240 × 210 mm travel area. The C500’s magazine reduces usable X/Y area, and NestWorks’ product page publishes conflicting installed-magazine dimensions. ToolDance specifies rated spindle power of 1.5 kW (S1); NestWorks lists 800 W without the same duty basis. The X1 holds nine cutting tools against five. The C500 includes MQL mist cooling; the X1 has standard air blast and optional flood coolant.

Price context: The C500’s $4,699 is its stated MSRP from the ended Kickstarter. NestWorks now advertises pre-orders, but its linked store does not expose a public checkout price. The X1’s $2,999 is an announced campaign price against a stated $5,999 MSRP.

Compare all 12 specifications
ToolDance X1 and NestWorks C500 specifications, side by side
SpecificationToolDance X1NestWorks C500
Price and buying stage$2,999 announced Super Early Bird; $2,799 for eligible VIP reservation holders after cashback; $5,999 stated MSRP. Kickstarter planned for mid-October 2026. The official campaign page remained in prelaunch, and the $30 reservation was marked out of stock, when checked October 1. Optional modules have separate crowdfunding add-on prices; final bundle and delivery terms are still to come.Manufacturer-stated MSRP: $4,699 in the ended Kickstarter. NestWorks now advertises pre-orders, but its linked store is password-protected and exposes no current checkout price. Kickstarter backers paid $2,799 to $3,199; late pledges closed July 28, 2026.
Work area400 × 265 × 180 mm work envelope (X × Y × Z)240 × 210 × 130 mm full XYZ travel. The tool magazine reduces usable X/Y area; NestWorks’ product page publishes conflicting installed-magazine dimensions.
SpindleRated spindle power: 1.5 kW (S1); PMSM, up to 24,000 rpm; shanks up to 10 mm. Not specified as mechanical output power.800 W, 9,000–18,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in
Tool changingAutomatic: 9 tools plus a workpiece probe; RFID tool identificationAutomatic: 5 tools; RFID tool holders
Probing and sensingSpindle RGB camera and line-laser sensor, workpiece probe, and a 1080p monitoring camera3D touch probe, automatic tool setter, probing camera, and laser distance sensor
Axes3-axis standard; optional 4-axis module ($699) or 5-axis module ($1,099), both crowdfunding add-on prices. 5-axis development preview: workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm in 3+2 machining, or 80 × 80 × 80 mm in simultaneous 5-axis machining.3-axis standard; optional 4th axis ($699 MSRP); no 5-axis option
CoolingAir blast standard; optional flood-cooling module ($799 crowdfunding add-on)MQL mist standard; air blast with a buyer-supplied compressor; no flood option
Enclosure and dustFully enclosed with a locking door; optional dust collection and filtration module ($499 crowdfunding add-on)Fully enclosed with an interlocked door (IP54); auger chip evacuation and a vacuum port
Motion systemPreloaded ball screws; closed-loop NEMA 23 steppersBall screws and linear rails; closed-loop NEMA 23 steppers
Weight and footprint100 kg; 750 × 625 × 772 mmAbout 120–130 kg; 550 × 615 × 745 mm
SoftwareToolDance Studio (automatic CAM and design checks) and ToolDance ControllerNestStudio with automatic toolpaths; accepts standard G-code
Warranty1 year12 months on main components

Comparing ToolDance X1 with NestWorks C500, $4,699 MSRP. About 2.1 times the C500’s full X/Y travel area, a 1,500 W spindle rating, and four more tools.

Taxes, duties, and shipping vary by maker and destination. Tooling, workholding, and optional accessories may cost extra. ToolDance specifies rated spindle power of 1.5 kW (S1, continuous duty) for the X1, without identifying it as mechanical output power. InfiMaker states a maximum rating for the K1. The other listed ratings do not specify the same duty basis. These figures do not measure cutting performance on equal terms. Product imagery is not to scale.

All 9 machines in one table, with sources
Desktop CNC specifications checked September 23, 2026; prices reviewed October 1, 2026
SpecificationToolDance X1NestWorks C500Makera CarveraInfiMaker K1Makera Z1Makera Z1 ProCarvera AirNomad 3Nomad 4
Price and buying stage$2,999 announced Super Early Bird; $2,799 for eligible VIP reservation holders after cashback; $5,999 stated MSRP. Kickstarter planned for mid-October 2026. The official campaign page remained in prelaunch, and the $30 reservation was marked out of stock, when checked October 1. Optional modules have separate crowdfunding add-on prices; final bundle and delivery terms are still to come.Manufacturer-stated MSRP: $4,699 in the ended Kickstarter. NestWorks now advertises pre-orders, but its linked store is password-protected and exposes no current checkout price. Kickstarter backers paid $2,799 to $3,199; late pledges closed July 28, 2026.$5,299 standalone Anniversary Sale Encore price when checked October 1 (regular $5,799). Available to order; confirm shipping timing with Makera.$5,699 late-pledge price (stated MSRP $9,499), with estimated delivery February 2027. The $5,199 Super Early Bird offer ended September 26.$1,399 standalone retail price when checked October 1. The product page lists US stock; the selected variant is available to order.$1,799 standalone retail price when checked October 1. The product page lists US stock; the selected variant is available to order.$2,299 base-machine Anniversary Sale Encore price when checked October 1 (regular $2,699). In stock.$2,800 retail. Ships within 14 business days.$5,400 retail. Ships by freight within 20 business days; not available for international shipping.
Work area400 × 265 × 180 mm work envelope (X × Y × Z)240 × 210 × 130 mm full XYZ travel. The tool magazine reduces usable X/Y area; NestWorks’ product page publishes conflicting installed-magazine dimensions.360 × 240 × 140 mm220 × 160 × 180 mm XYZ travel; largest 5-axis workpiece 120 × 120 × 120 mm200 × 200 × 100 mm200 × 200 × 100 mm300 × 200 × 130 mm203 × 203 × 76 mm (8 × 8 × 3 in)254 × 203 × 89 mm (10 × 8 × 3.5 in)
SpindleRated spindle power: 1.5 kW (S1); PMSM, up to 24,000 rpm; shanks up to 10 mm. Not specified as mechanical output power.800 W, 9,000–18,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in200 W, up to 15,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in1.5 kW (maximum rating), up to 20,000 rpm; 4 and 6 mm shanks in the changer150 W, up to 13,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in150 W, up to 13,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in200 W, up to 13,000 rpm; shanks up to 1/4 in130 W brushless, 9,000–24,000 rpm; ER-11 collet1,200 W VFD, 8,000–24,000 rpm; ER-16 collets up to 3/8 in
Tool changingAutomatic: 9 tools plus a workpiece probe; RFID tool identificationAutomatic: 5 tools; RFID tool holdersAutomatic: 6 toolsAutomatic: 5 tools plus a probe stationManual quick-change leverManual quick-change leverManual quick-change leverManual ER-11 collet; a built-in BitSetter measures each new toolManual ER-16 collet
Probing and sensingSpindle RGB camera and line-laser sensor, workpiece probe, and a 1080p monitoring camera3D touch probe, automatic tool setter, probing camera, and laser distance sensorWireless probe for Z, tool length, and leveling; manual XYZ probeWireless 3D touch probe for centering and 5-axis calibrationWired probe and 3D probe rodWired probe and 3D probe rodWired probe, automatic tool setter, and manual XYZ probeBitSetter tool-length sensor and BitZero V2 probeBitZero V2 probe
Axes3-axis standard; optional 4-axis module ($699) or 5-axis module ($1,099), both crowdfunding add-on prices. 5-axis development preview: workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm in 3+2 machining, or 80 × 80 × 80 mm in simultaneous 5-axis machining.3-axis standard; optional 4th axis ($699 MSRP); no 5-axis option3-axis standard; optional 4th axis ($599); no 5-axis optionSimultaneous 5-axis included (B axis −30° to +110°, C axis 360°)3-axis standard; optional belt-driven 4th axis ($269); no 5-axis option3-axis standard; optional belt-driven 4th axis ($269); no 5-axis option3-axis standard; optional 4th axis ($499); no 5-axis option3-axis only3-axis only
CoolingAir blast standard; optional flood-cooling module ($799 crowdfunding add-on)MQL mist standard; air blast with a buyer-supplied compressor; no flood optionOptional air assist from a buyer-supplied compressor or pump; no liquid coolant optionOptional InfiFlow water coolant; water-cooled spindleBuilt-in air blowerBuilt-in air blowerOptional air assist from a buyer-supplied pump; no liquid coolant optionNo coolant or air assist offeredNo coolant system listed
Enclosure and dustFully enclosed with a locking door; optional dust collection and filtration module ($499 crowdfunding add-on)Fully enclosed with an interlocked door (IP54); auger chip evacuation and a vacuum portFully enclosed; built-in dust collectionFully enclosed with a locking door; chip tray, no dust-collection portFully enclosed; needs an external dust collectorFully enclosed; needs an external dust collectorFully enclosed; needs an external dust collectorFully enclosed with an interlocked door; no dust portFully enclosed with an interlocked door; optional dust boot
Motion systemPreloaded ball screws; closed-loop NEMA 23 steppersBall screws and linear rails; closed-loop NEMA 23 steppersBall screws; closed-loop servo motorsPreloaded ball screws and linear guides; servo motorsAcme lead screws and linear rails; open-loop NEMA 17 steppersBall screws and 12 mm linear rails; closed-loop NEMA 17 steppers with position-error detectionBall screws; closed-loop steppersLead screws with anti-backlash nuts; NEMA 17 steppersBall screws and HG-15 rails on every axis; NEMA 23 steppers
Weight and footprint100 kg; 750 × 625 × 772 mmAbout 120–130 kg; 550 × 615 × 745 mmAbout 50 kg; 580 × 520 × 540 mmAbout 166 kg with the production cast-iron bed; 560 × 700 × 800 mmAbout 17 kg; 350 × 470 × 450 mmAbout 17 kg; 350 × 470 × 450 mmAbout 30 kg; 500 × 450 × 450 mmAbout 32 kg; 445 × 483 × 432 mmAbout 54 kg; 457 × 460 × 521 mm, plus an external controller
SoftwareToolDance Studio (automatic CAM and design checks) and ToolDance ControllerNestStudio with automatic toolpaths; accepts standard G-codeMakera Controller and Makera CAM; Makera Studio is in public beta. Built-in 2.5 W laser.InfiStudio CAMMakera Studio (public beta) and Makera AppMakera Studio (public beta) and Makera AppMakera Controller, Makera CAM, and Makera Studio (public beta)Carbide Create, Carbide Motion, and MeshCAM for NomadCarbide Create, Carbide Motion, and MeshCAM for Nomad
Warranty1 year12 months on main components1 year (US)1 year limited1 year (US)1 year (US)1 year (US)18 months limited18 months limited
07COMPANY BACKGROUND

The team behind ToolDance

A visitor photographs the ToolDance X1 at its IFA exhibition display.
A visitor examines the X1 at IFA. Photograph supplied by ToolDance.

Led by founder and CEO Will Wang, ToolDance describes a team with experience at DJI and Siemens across robotics, precision manufacturing, and consumer electronics. Company announcement ↗ ToolDance brief ↗

The company reports five generations of X1 prototypes and 150 units in continuous testing, with another 200 planned. Supplied brief ↗

ToolDance introduced the X1 at IFA Berlin, held September 4–8, 2026. IMTS listed ToolDance among Xsurge Technology Inc.’s brands for its September 14–19 show in Chicago, and Maker Faire Bay Area listed a ToolDance exhibit for September 25–27. Company announcement ↗ Official event records ↗

08PRICING AND LAUNCH PLANS

Kickstarter planned for mid-October 2026

ToolDance’s Kickstarter campaign graphic showing the X1 on a workbench with Studio feature labels, a Kickstarter Project We Love badge, and a specification bar listing a 1,500 W, 24,000 RPM PMSM spindle, a 400 × 265 × 180 mm work envelope, a nine-tool changer plus one 3D probe, ±0.01 mm repeatability, optional 4-axis and 5-axis modules, and dry and flood coolant machining.
ToolDance’s campaign graphic, with specifications as ToolDance states them. Kickstarter staff choose the “Project We Love” badge, and it is not a product test. ToolDance’s Kickstarter pre-launch page displayed it as of September 23. Kickstarter pre-launch page ↗ View full size ↗

ToolDance says the X1’s Kickstarter launch is planned for mid-October 2026, with no specific date confirmed. When checked October 1, the company advertised a $2,999 Super Early Bird starting price against a stated $5,999 MSRP, or an effective $2,799 starting price for eligible VIP buyers after cashback. Its separate $30 advance reservation is described as refundable, but the reservation page was marked out of stock when checked October 1. Its Kickstarter page remained in prelaunch. VIP buyers still pledge the full campaign amount; ToolDance says the cashback and deposit refund are processed separately after the campaign. Company announcement ↗ ToolDance brief ↗ ToolDance’s launch details ↗

ToolDance has confirmed the optional-module crowdfunding prices listed above. Final bundle contents, shipping charges, and delivery details are still to come.

I’m excited by the project possibilities: custom metal brackets, wooden molds, acrylic panels, and fixtures that make the next build easier. The X1’s automatic tool changes, along with its optional 4-axis and 5-axis modules, make it an interesting addition to the desktop CNC market.

See the X1 on ToolDance’s website

Paid sponsor link. ToolDance’s website has its current specifications and launch terms.

09X1 QUESTIONS

ToolDance X1 questions, answered.

What the X1 includes, what the Studio demonstrations show, and where I still want hands-on answers. These notes draw on ToolDance’s supplied information and the sources in this feature.

How much will the ToolDance X1 cost, and when does it launch?

ToolDance’s Kickstarter launch is planned for mid-October 2026, with no specific date confirmed. As of October 1, 2026, the announced Super Early Bird price starts at $2,999; eligible VIP reservation holders can reach $2,799 after cashback. The separate $30 reservation was marked out of stock. Final campaign terms and delivery details are still to come.

ToolDance X1 VIP reservation terms · ToolDance product clarifications

See current price and launch status

What is included in the $2,999 X1 price?

The $2,999 figure is the announced starting price for the base three-axis X1. The optional 4-axis module is $699 and the optional 5-axis module is $1,099; dust collection and flood cooling are also separate. These are US-dollar crowdfunding add-on prices confirmed September 28. Final bundle contents, shipping charges, and delivery timing still need confirmation.

ToolDance product clarifications · ToolDance X1 VIP reservation terms

See what is confirmed and still open

How does the ToolDance X1 compare with the Carvera Air?

At prices checked October 1, 2026, the X1’s announced $2,999 starting price is $700 above Carvera Air’s $2,299 sale price. The main distinction is tool changing: X1 lists a 9-tool automatic changer that follows the programmed job, while the Air uses manual quick changes. X1’s announced campaign offer and Air’s available retail machine also have different buying and delivery terms.

X1 market comparison and manufacturer sources

Compare X1 and Carvera Air in detail

What does the X1's 1.5 kW (S1) spindle rating mean?

ToolDance specifies rated spindle power of 1.5 kW (S1), with a maximum speed of 24,000 RPM. The company has not specified that figure as mechanical output power. I’m treating it as a manufacturer rating; cutting performance and finished-part quality will need testing with actual tools, materials, and setups.

ToolDance product clarifications · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement

Read the spindle and material details

What materials can the ToolDance X1 machine?

ToolDance lists steel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, brass, copper, hardwood, acrylic, and other plastics as supported materials. That offers a broad range of project possibilities. The practical setup still depends on the cutter, stock, workholding, feeds and speeds, and cooling. I haven’t tested the X1 on these materials.

ToolDance product clarifications · ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement

See the material and cooling context

How many tools does the X1 hold, and does it change them automatically?

The X1 is specified to store and automatically change among 9 cutting tools, with a separate workpiece probe. For a job with pockets, holes, and finished edges, the machine can switch between the programmed cutters without each manual swap. The operator still needs to load the correct tools, secure the stock, and supervise machining.

ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement · ToolDance X1 media kit

See how the tool-change sequence works

How large a part can the X1 machine, and how much shop space does it need?

ToolDance specifies a 400 × 265 × 180 mm XYZ work envelope. Its published weight and machine dimensions are 100 kg; 750 × 625 × 772 mm. Fixtures, cutters, and optional rotary modules reduce the room available for a particular part. The materials I reviewed do not give service-clearance dimensions. Bench planning also needs to allow for access and any separate cooling or dust equipment.

ToolDance X1 media kit · ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement

See the work-envelope illustration

Is the ToolDance X1 a three-axis, four-axis, or five-axis CNC?

3-axis standard; optional 4-axis module ($699) or 5-axis module ($1,099), both crowdfunding add-on prices. 5-axis development preview: workpieces up to 80 × 114 × 92 mm in 3+2 machining, or 80 × 80 × 80 mm in simultaneous 5-axis machining. The smaller module workpiece dimensions should not be confused with the base machine’s XYZ work envelope.

ToolDance product clarifications · ToolDance X1 VIP reservation terms

See the optional axis modules

Are flood cooling and dust collection included with the X1?

Air blast is standard. ToolDance lists flood cooling at $799 and dust collection and filtration at $499 as optional US-dollar crowdfunding add-ons, separate from the base machine. Those are campaign add-on prices confirmed September 28, rather than retail prices. Choose the configuration around the material and work you plan to machine.

ToolDance product clarifications

See cutting and chip-management details

Can I import a model and machine it with ToolDance Studio?

ToolDance Studio brings design checks, automatic toolpaths for supported jobs, simulation, and workholding guidance into one preparation workflow. In the supplied videos I reviewed, a person still positions and secures the stock. That looks like a useful move toward simpler CNC setup, but it does not establish one-click machining for arbitrary models.

ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement · ToolDance Studio demonstrations · ToolDance X1 media kit

Watch the supplied AutoCAM demonstration

Is ToolDance Studio included, and does it require a subscription?

ToolDance hasn’t confirmed Studio’s license price, subscription terms, supported operating systems, or offline and cloud requirements in the materials I’ve reviewed. The demonstrations explain its intended workflow, but they don’t establish these purchase terms. Those are useful details to confirm when the campaign and software terms are published.

ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance X1 VIP reservation terms · ToolDance X1 media kit

See what the Studio demos establish

What files can Studio import, and can X1 use Fusion 360 or other CAM?

ToolDance’s supplied brief describes STEP and STL import. Its public X1 page also names compatibility with Fusion 360, Siemens NX, and Mastercam. I haven’t tested that connection, and the materials I reviewed do not document the exact postprocessor or project-transfer procedure. ToolDance Studio’s own workflow and third-party CAM compatibility should be evaluated separately.

ToolDance X1 media kit · ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance Studio demonstrations

Read the Studio workflow context

Does ±0.01 mm repeatability mean every finished part will be accurate to ±0.01 mm?

ToolDance states ±0.01 mm positioning repeatability: how consistently the machine returns to a position under the same conditions. That is different from a guaranteed tolerance for every finished part. Cutter deflection, workholding, material, toolpaths, calibration, and measurement also affect the result. I would want measured test parts before making a finished-part accuracy claim.

ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement · ToolDance X1 media kit · NIST measurement terminology

Read the positioning-specification note

Has The Crafty Catsman tested the ToolDance X1?

I reviewed ToolDance’s supplied specifications, media, written clarifications, and software demonstrations, and checked public sources for the market comparison. I haven’t tested the X1 or Studio firsthand. ToolDance paid for this feature. I hope to have the opportunity to test the complete workflow and share what I learn in a future update.

ToolDance X1 media kit · ToolDance product clarifications · ToolDance Studio demonstrations · ToolDance X1 public product page · ToolDance IFA 2026 announcement

Review the evidence and disclosure

Specifications are manufacturer claims; demonstrations are not independent tests. Each answer links to the supporting source notes and the relevant chapter. Download the facts and source notes (JSON).

Sources and product details

Prepared September 16, 2026. Updated September 18 with observations from ToolDance’s supplied Studio demonstrations, and September 23 with ToolDance’s preferred product terminology, additional supplied images, the AutoCAM demonstration video, updated event details, a check of ToolDance’s Kickstarter pre-launch page and specification table, and a recheck of every machine, specification, and price in the market comparison. Updated September 28 with ToolDance’s confirmed module dimensions, crowdfunding add-on prices, launch window, spindle-rating wording, and a review of current competitor prices, buying stages, and past event dates. Published September 30 after a final review of offer prices, buying stages, and reservation availability. Updated October 1 with new Makera prices and a fresh check of competitor offers, reservation availability, and event wording. Added a sourced buyer-question reference on October 1, drawn from the same specifications, supplied demonstrations, and pricing records as the feature. Product specifications and development figures are attributed to ToolDance. Event details were checked against organizer listings.

  1. ToolDance X1 media kit

    Supplied September 16, 2026: six-page product brief, specifications, development history, software description, optional modules, and launch information. Product renderings and IFA photographs are supplied by ToolDance. Additional renderings, a 5-axis module image, and a campaign graphic were supplied September 23, 2026, when ToolDance also resent its AutoCAM demonstration for use in this article.

  2. ToolDance product clarifications

    Written confirmation received September 28, 2026: 5-axis module workpiece dimensions and development-preview status; US-dollar crowdfunding add-on prices of $699 for the 4-axis module, $1,099 for the 5-axis module, $499 for dust collection, and $799 for flood cooling; copper support; a Kickstarter launch planned for mid-October 2026; and rated spindle power of 1.5 kW (S1), without a mechanical-output specification. ToolDance also confirmed the AutoCAM demonstration should remain muted.

  3. ToolDance Studio demonstrations

    Visual review of four short videos supplied by ToolDance: AutoCAM Programming, DFM Analysis, Workholding Guidance System, and From Image to Model. Reviewed September 18, 2026. The AutoCAM demonstration appears in the Studio chapter without sound. These are company demonstrations; I haven’t tested Studio or the X1 firsthand.

  4. Studio compatibility and public product details

    ToolDance’s X1 product page, reviewed October 1, names compatibility with Fusion 360, Siemens NX, and Mastercam, and describes design checks, workholding guidance, and image-to-model tools. These are manufacturer descriptions; the workflow has not been tested here.

  5. Autodesk Fusion documentation

    Create a setup (Fusion Manufacture help), used to explain stock, fixtures, and work coordinates.

  6. Measurement terminology

    Renishaw’s accuracy, resolution, and repeatability definitions, used for context when reading the positioning specification. NIST’s measurement terminology also distinguishes repeatability from accuracy.

  7. Company announcement

    ToolDance’s September 4 announcement, distributed by PR Newswire. This is a company-issued statement.

  8. Official event records

    IFA’s ToolDance exhibitor profile; IMTS’s exhibitor listing, whose exhibitor of record, Xsurge Technology Inc., lists ToolDance among its brands; and Maker Faire Bay Area’s ToolDance exhibit listing. These document the September exhibitor listings. The organizers published the 2026 dates for IFA (September 4–8), IMTS (September 14–19), and Maker Faire Bay Area (September 25–27).

  9. Kickstarter pre-launch page

    ToolDance’s X1 pre-launch page on Kickstarter, which showed Kickstarter’s “Project We Love” badge and no launch date when checked September 23, 2026.

  10. Public product and reservation terms

    ToolDance’s product site and VIP reservation page, consulted September 16, with the advertised prices and reservation availability rechecked October 1, 2026. Pricing and campaign terms may change.

  11. Market comparison sources

    Manufacturer store pages, specification tables, manuals, and campaign pages for each machine in the comparison, with specifications checked September 23, 2026 and prices and buying stages reviewed October 1. Sources are listed beneath the full comparison table. The K1 has a $5,699 late-pledge offer. Makera’s October 1 standalone prices replace the September offers: $5,299 for Carvera, $2,299 for Carvera Air, $1,399 for Z1, and $1,799 for Z1 Pro. NestWorks still does not expose a public checkout price, so the C500 is labeled with its historical stated MSRP.