Skip to main content

Source checks September 22 – October 11, 2026

Laser cutter spec registry

This is the reference table behind the laser-cutter comparisons on The Crafty Catsman: manufacturer-documented specs, dated price signals, missing-field notes, and places where a brand's own public sources disagree.

The registry compares current CO2 laser candidates using manufacturer sources only. Use it to check xTool P3, xTool P2S, Bambu Lab R1, OMTech Polar 2 RF/glass, Glowforge Pro, and Thunder Bolt specs before reading a buyer verdict. Prices, promos, stock, shipping, and accessory bundles are dated signals, not evergreen checkout promises.

How to read it

Use the table as a source trail, not just a scoreboard.

Every row is designed to separate stable machine facts from fast-moving offer language. Null values mean the manufacturer did not publish a usable spec. Contradiction notes stay visible so one confident marketing number does not flatten the decision.

01

Manufacturer sources only

Product pages, manuals, support pages, and official product feeds are used before any buyer interpretation.

02

Missing specs stay missing

When a brand does not document a value, the registry says not documented instead of borrowing from memory or reviews.

03

Offer facts are dated

Prices, coupons, bundles, and stock notes carry a checked date because checkout pages can move quickly.

Source checks September 22 – October 11, 2026 · manufacturer data only

CO2 laser cutter spec registry: manufacturer-documented comparison table

Every number below comes from the manufacturer's own pages, manuals, and support docs — each cell links its source (). Where a manufacturer doesn't document something, we say not documented instead of guessing. Where a manufacturer contradicts itself, we say that too.

CO2 laser cutter spec registry: manufacturer-documented comparison table. Specs as documented by each manufacturer, checked September 22 – October 11, 2026 (dates per machine). "Not documented" means the manufacturer does not publish that spec.
SpecOMTech Polar 250W RFLaunched July 6, 2026 · in stockChecked OMTech Polar 2 guideOMTech Polar 270W GlassLaunched July 6, 2026 · in stockChecked OMTech Polar 2 guidexTool P2S55W CO2Pre-order · xTool: "Estimated shipping from late October" (checked October 11, 2026; it said early October on September 22)Checked xTool P2S guidexTool P380W CO2Current flagship · in stock (xTool: "ships in 3-5 business days")Checked xTool P3 guideGlowforge Pro45W CO2No longer sold new — Certified Rebuilt only; the Pro HD ($7,999) is the current new 45W modelChecked Glowforge Pro guideThunder Laser Bolt30W RF (60W option)Current · in stockChecked Thunder Laser Bolt Plus 2460W RFCurrent · in stockChecked Bambu Lab R155W CO2Pre-order · Bambu's launch posts say shipping starts in October; on October 2, 2026 the US store listed "Ship around November 20, 2026" for the R1Checked Bambu Lab R1 guide
Money
Price (checked)$4,999.99 OMTech store price, checked September 22, 2026↗$3,699.99 OMTech store price, checked September 22, 2026↗$2,999 Standalone (pre-order), checked October 11, 2026↗(paid link)$6,999 Standalone, checked October 11, 2026↗(paid link)$2,999 Certified Rebuilt, checked September 22, 2026↗$5,795 for 30W / $7,995 for 60W, checked September 22, 2026↗$9,995, checked September 22, 2026↗$2,499 (pre-order), checked September 22, 2026↗
List / compare-at$7,599.99 compare-at↗$5,199.99 compare-at↗$4,499 compare-at↗(paid link)$6,999 (xTool's strikethrough price)↗(paid link)$5,999 Glowforge reference price on its Certified Rebuilt page ("Save 50%"); not a current new-machine price↗Same as current price when checked↗Same as current price when checked↗$2,499 (no compare-at price shown)↗
Active promoAutomatic cart discounts ("Spend More, Save More"): $100 off at $2,499+, $150 off at $3,799+, $300 off at $5,999+; OMTech says final eligibility is confirmed in cart, checked September 22, 2026; OMTech publishes no end date. The package includes LightBurn Software and free material packs↗Automatic cart discounts ("Spend More, Save More"): $100 off at $2,499+, $150 off at $3,799+, $300 off at $5,999+; OMTech says final eligibility is confirmed in cart, checked September 22, 2026; OMTech publishes no end date. The package includes LightBurn Software and free material packs↗Ended: xTool's 6th Anniversary Sale ran September 14–October 4, 2026 ($200 off orders over $1,499 at checkout); check the product page for any current offer↗(paid link)Ended: xTool's 6th Anniversary Sale ran September 14–October 4, 2026 ($700 off orders of $6,999+, $1,500 off $8,899+, at checkout); check the product page for any current offer↗(paid link)With a referral: $2,499; $150 of Proofgrade materials included↗No discount when checked; financing from $114/mo shown on the shop page↗No discount when checked; financing from $197.30/mo shown on the shop page↗No machine discount when checked; the store lists free shipping, 30-Day Price Protection, 30-Day Returns and "Earn 2,499 Bambu Credits"↗
Engine
Laser sourceRF metal CO2 tube, air-cooled↗DC glass CO2 tube, closed-loop water-cooled↗Maker's page now says (checked ): Glass CO2 tube, closed-loop water-cooled. OMTech's product page and manual both say "Glass Tube" with no further tube-type qualifier↗55W glass CO2 tube, liquid-cooled (built-in tank and pump; user-filled antifreeze)↗(paid link)CO2 tube (glass/RF construction not documented), 10.6 µm↗(paid link)Custom CO2 glass tube, continuous operation at 10,600 nm↗RF metal CO2 tube (SPT on the 30W; tube maker not stated for the 60W option), air-cooled↗RF metal CO2 tube (SPT), air-cooled↗Glass CO2 laser tube (9–11 µm), cooled by a built-in water loop↗
Power50W↗70W↗55W↗(paid link)80W↗(paid link)45W↗30W standard / 60W option↗60W standard↗55W↗
Tube life (as documented)Up to 30,000 hrs (manual bands: 30k/25k/20k at <40%/40–70%/>70% power); RF renewable↗Up to 10,000 hrs at <40% power; 6,500 hrs at 40–70%; 1,500 hrs at >70% (FAQ and manual); consumable, not rechargeable↗6,000–8,000 hrs (xTool product-page FAQ); tube warrantied 6 months as a consumable↗(paid link)~10,000 hrs per FAQ; tube warrantied 6 months as wearing part↗(paid link)not documented10,000+ hrs (global comparison table only)↗10,000+ hrs (global comparison table only)↗not documented
Max speed2,000 mm/s engrave (X); 500 mm/s Y per manual↗1,200 mm/s engrave (X); 12,000 mm/s² accel claim↗600 mm/s; 6,400 mm/s² X accel↗(paid link)1,200 mm/s; 19,600 mm/s² X accel↗(paid link)not documented1,500 mm/s (Thunder's US shop page and user manual); 2,000 mm/s (Thunder's global site comparison table)↗2,000 mm/s; 5G (50,000 mm/s²) accel↗1,000 mm/s; 20,000 mm/s² acceleration↗
Spot size0.07 mm (marketing copy; not in manual spec table)↗not documented0.15 × 0.15 mm↗(paid link)0.15 × 0.18 mm standard M lens (S/L optional; FAQ lists different values)↗(paid link)not documentednot documentednot documentedShort-focus lens (included) Ø0.11 mm; medium Ø0.17 mm and long Ø0.19 mm lenses sold separately↗
Capacity
Work area28 × 14 in (710 × 360 mm)↗28 × 14 in (710 × 360 mm)↗23.6 × 12 in (600 × 305 mm)↗(paid link)36 × 18 in (915 × 458 mm) — "2.3x larger than P2S"↗(paid link)11 × 19.5 in cutting area; 20 in wide material↗20 × 12 in (508 × 305 mm)↗24 × 16 in (610 × 407 mm)↗600 × 300 mm standalone; 600 × 3,000 mm with the Conveyor plus three rail kits (1,500 mm with the conveyor alone)↗
Max material height4.53 in (115 mm)↗4.92 in (125 mm)↗71 mm (2.80 in) without tray; 64 mm with tray; 215 mm (8.46 in) with the separate Riser Base↗(paid link)220 mm manual mode / 180 mm auto mode↗(paid link)2 in tray removed / 0.5 in with tray↗4.33 in (110 mm); 6.3 in with the included rotary tray↗150 mm (5.9 in); 7.9 in with the included rotary tray↗0–58 mm standalone; up to 248 mm with the separate Riser Base (Class 4 when installed)↗
Pass-throughNone (official FAQ: no pass-through openings)↗None (official FAQ: no pass-through openings)↗None on the base machine; 118 in (3 m) lengths need the separate Automatic Conveyor Feeder plus rail kits (the Riser Base is required); max 14 mm thick↗(paid link)No manual pass-through documented; the optional Intelligent Conveyor Feeder feeds stock through a front inlet: 60 in standard, up to 5 m with seven extra rail sets; conveyor use makes P3 Class 4↗(paid link)Yes — Pro Passthrough: 1/4 in thick, 20 in wide, unlimited length↗Front pass-through door, unlimited length (513 mm width)↗Front pass-through door, unlimited length (655 mm width)↗None standalone. The separate Automatic Conveyor Feeder (needs the Riser Base) feeds 450–1,500 mm stock on its included rails and up to 3,000 mm with three Guide Rail Extension kits; stock up to 20 mm thick↗
Workflow
Camera16MP, ±1 mm positioning, full-bed view↗16MP, ±1 mm positioning, full-bed view↗Dual 16MP (close-range + panoramic), 0.3 mm positioning↗(paid link)4-camera stack: 16MP SkyView panoramic + close-range + 2 side flame cams↗(paid link)Dual cameras: lid wide-angle (±6 mm) + head macro (±0.1 mm); HD live view reserved for Pro HD↗Integrated bed camera (5MP per global site)↗Integrated bed camera (5MP per global site)↗BirdsEye lid camera (whole-bed capture with the lid open) + toolhead camera (detail capture, edge tracing for print-and-cut); resolutions not published↗
AutofocusYes — one-touch↗Yes — one-touch↗Yes — LiDAR ranging (not available through LightBurn)↗(paid link)Yes + LiDAR ranging + motorized AutoLift base (16 kg capacity)↗(paid link)Yes — laser height measurement, internal lens travel↗Yes — touch-pin autofocus + red dot↗Yes + red dot↗Yes — automatic laser ranging, plus contact ranging for transparent or reflective stock↗
SoftwareFREE LightBurn license included; RDWorks V8 compatible↗Maker's page now says (checked ): OMTech's current package lists "LightBurn Software" as an included item; RDWorks V8 compatible↗FREE LightBurn license included; RDWorks V8 compatible↗Maker's page now says (checked ): OMTech's current package lists "LightBurn Software" as an included item; RDWorks V8 compatible↗xTool Studio (free); Windows / macOS↗(paid link)xTool Studio (PC) ONLY↗(paid link)Web-based Glowforge app; internet needed to start every print (a print in progress finishes if the connection drops)↗LightBurn INCLUDED (tier not stated); RDWorks/LaserMaker compatible↗LightBurn INCLUDED; RDWorks/LaserMaker compatible↗Bambu Suite↗
LightBurnYes — free license bundled↗Maker's page now says (checked ): Yes — OMTech's current package lists "LightBurn Software" as an included item↗Yes — free license bundled↗Maker's page now says (checked ): Yes — OMTech's current package lists "LightBurn Software" as an included item↗Blocked on current firmware — xTool says P2S firmware 40.22.011 and later no longer works with LightBurn (page updated September 16, 2026), and LightBurn's notice dated June 29, 2026 agrees. Older firmware used xTool's .lbdev profile for flat-material jobs only, with no camera or autofocus↗(paid link)No — "Lightburn and XCS (mobile and iPad versions) are not supported"↗(paid link)No — machine control only through the Glowforge app; replacing its software or firmware voids the warranty↗Yes — license included↗Yes — license included↗not documented
OS supportWindows/macOS/Linux via LightBurn↗Windows/macOS/Linux via LightBurn↗Windows / macOS↗(paid link)Windows 10 64-bit / macOS 11+; no Linux/ChromeOS↗(paid link)Runs in a web browser (internet required)↗not documentednot documentedWindows, macOS (no Linux listed)↗
ConnectivityUSB / U-disk / Ethernet / Wi-Fi↗USB / U-disk / Ethernet / Wi-Fi↗USB-C / Wi-Fi (Ethernet appears only in xTool's comparison data and troubleshooting docs)↗(paid link)USB / Wi-Fi (2.4G+5G) / BLE 5.1; no Ethernet documented↗(paid link)Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz only; no Ethernet port↗Ethernet / USB cable / USB disk (global site); 1GB onboard memory↗Ethernet / USB cable / USB disk (global site); 1GB onboard↗Dual-band Wi-Fi and USB; no Ethernet listed↗
Shop reality
Air assistBuilt-in pump, 14–17 L/min↗Built-in pump, 14–17 L/min↗Built-in dual-cylinder pump, up to 200 kPa, software-adjustable↗(paid link)Built-in dual-cylinder pump, 30 L/min, 200 kPa↗(paid link)Internal, no external compressor↗Dual-stage air assist, pump included, digital flow meter; flow rate not published↗Dual-stage standard; digital flow meter↗Built-in pump, 30 L/min at 30 kPa↗
CoolingAir-cooled — no water loop at all↗Integrated closed-loop water cooling, 4.3 L tank, auto-shutoff protection↗Built-in water cooling; user fills antifreeze + purified water↗(paid link)Built-in water cooling + chiller, 1.2 L tank, user-filled↗(paid link)Closed-loop internal cooling with solid-state thermoelectric cooling; operates at 60–81°F (16–27°C)↗Air-cooled — no chiller↗Air-cooled — no chiller↗Built-in water-cooling loop with radiator and fan; no external chiller↗
Exhaust / filtrationDuct fan and two 1.5 m pipes included (vent outdoors); no filtration. OMTech sells a 300W Fume Extractor ($749.99) separately; the Polar 2 page does not pair it↗Duct fan and two 1.5 m pipes included (vent outdoors); no filtration. OMTech sells a 300W Fume Extractor ($749.99) separately; the Polar 2 page does not pair it↗Built-in dual-fan exhaust (14,000 RPM); filter screens need cleaning every 4 hrs of continuous use; AP2 purifier separate↗(paid link)No built-in fan — SafetyPro IF2 2.0 inline fan INCLUDED in box↗(paid link)4-in hose included (8 ft max run); Performance Filter $1,295 + $249 cartridges for windowless use↗Integrated exhaust; no filtration (Thunder Air 700 sold separately)↗Integrated exhaust; no filtration included (Thunder Air 700 sold separately)↗Rear smoke ventilation fan and 2 m hose included (vent outdoors); crossflow ventilation; no filtration in the box↗
Laser classMarketed Class I enclosed; manual spec table lists laser as Class 4↗Marketed Class I enclosed; manual spec table lists laser as Class 4↗Class 4 on xTool's spec table; the same product page says P2S comes in Class 1 and Class 4 variants, and xTool's safety FAQ says Class 1 conditions apply only without the Riser Base; interlocks + AI fire detection↗(paid link)Class 1 standalone (Class 4 with conveyor); 8 flame sensors + built-in CO2 fire suppression (gas cylinder sold separately)↗(paid link)Class 4 because of the passthrough slots; Glowforge says the Pro Shields and in-app training create "Class 1 conditions"↗Class 1 fully enclosed; "FDA Class 1, CE" per global table; laser class with the pass-through door in use is not documented↗Class 1 fully enclosed; "FDA Class 1, CE" per global table↗Class 1 (IEC 60825-1) as an enclosed standalone machine; Class 4 with the Riser Base or conveyor installed (CO2 laser eyewear required)↗
RotaryBasic rotary axis INCLUDED in box↗Basic rotary axis INCLUDED in box↗Not included — separate rotary (RA3 for P2S/P2); rotary diameter 3–50 mm without the Riser Base, 0–180 mm with it↗(paid link)Not included — RA3 separate; autofocus only works with RA3↗(paid link)None — Glowforge does not sell a rotary; round objects fit only if 2 in or shorter lying on their side↗Rotary tray included; rotary attachment separate↗Rotary tray included; attachment separate↗Not included — optional Rotary Attachment needs the Riser Base; Ø57–105 mm, up to 500 mm long; cylinders only at launch↗
Footprint46.4 × 27.3 × 14.3 in↗46.4 × 27.3 × 14.3 in↗39.4 × 25.1 × 10.6 in↗(paid link)49.2 × 30.7 × 19.5 in (1250 × 780 × 496 mm); xTool's support FAQ lists 808 mm deep↗(paid link)38 × 20.75 × 8.25 in↗37.0 × 28.5 × 19.6 in↗44.3 × 36.4 × 23.0 in↗940 × 560 × 200 mm; needs 940 × 660 × 650 mm with the lid open↗
Weight220.5 lb (100 kg) net (manual)↗216.1 lb (98 kg) net (manual)↗99.2 lb (45 kg)↗(paid link)231.5 lb (105 kg); ships freight↗(paid link)not documented77 kg (169.8 lb)↗128.5 kg / 283.3 lb (manual); Thunder's global table says 132 kg / 291 lb↗33.5 kg net↗
Warranty2-yr machine; the product page lists a 24-month RF tube warranty (OMTech's warranty policy says 6 months for 40–60W tubes)↗2-yr machine; glass tube only 12 months↗Main parts 12 mo; laser tube 6 mo (xTool's after-sales policy); reflector and focusing mirror 3 mo in xTool's 2023 P2 warranty article↗(paid link)Main parts 12 mo; tube/filter/silencer 6 mo↗(paid link)Certified Rebuilt: 90-day manufacturer's guarantee (product page and Glowforge's April 2, 2026 post); the same page's details still say 12 months↗2-yr machine + lifetime US-based support↗2-yr machine + lifetime US-based support↗Store badge: "2-Year Warranty" (its text refers to printers); laser tube coverage not stated on Bambu's R1 pages↗

Provenance: compiled exclusively from manufacturer sources (product pages, spec tables, user manuals, official support docs). Each machine column shows the date its manufacturer sources were last checked. Prices are launch/promo-era signals — check the maker's current store price before purchase. Every page on this site reads these numbers from the same data, so they don't drift between articles.

Source index

Official pages behind the registry.

These are the primary manufacturer paths used by the current registry, plus LightBurn's own compatibility notice for the xTool rows. The table above links individual cells to the exact source used for that spec.